Thirteenth Edition

I told you in Edition Eleven I was going to tell you how the government will control and silence our pulpits. What you will read below is fact, not fiction, so read at your own risk.

For twenty years, I have advised pastors and evangelists that if they used a 501(c)(3) to incorporate their ministries, they were playing into the hands of the government. I find it sad that our spiritual leaders today would go out of their way to follow a paid legal consultant they were paying $5,000.00 to rather than listen to a prophet. I have literally had to walk away from life long friends and let them follow their humanitarian advisers in order to maintain their friendship. All I knew at the time was that after prayer God had impressed me not to be a spiritual lemming and follow my peers. Instead I stepped out by faith and filed a Non- Profit Religious Organization, Inc. I was told by my attorney friends that the state of Texas would not honor my filing and that I was jeopardizing my tax exempt status by not following suit with the 501(c)(3) crowd. It was extremely satisfying to me when I walked out of the Secretary of State Building in Austin with my documents in hand complete with the seal of Texas on my tax exempt documents and my Federal EIN.

For years I have stood against all the efforts of my friends and elders who assured me the only way to operate within the law was to convert my ministry to a 501(c)(3) or suffer the consequence. It was only after I had taken the step of faith to follow Gods instruction that I found out about the “Johnson Amendment 1954.”

What is the Johnson Amendment 1954? Well funny you should ask. In 1954, Texas Senator Lyndon B. Johnson presented a law stating that any 501(c)(3) who expressed a political opinion, said anything about someone’s sexual preference or said anything contrary to the popular government stance would lose their tax exempt status and was subject to losing their church property, confiscation of funds and seizure of their vehicles.

(The below is taken word for word from the IRS Code.)

The IRS explanation of the statute is as follows:

Under the Internal Revenue Code, all section 501(c)(3) organizations are absolutely prohibited from directly or indirectly participating in, or intervening in any political campaign on behalf of (or in opposition to) to any candidate for elective office.

Contributions to political campaign funds or public statements of position (verbal or written) made on behalf of the organization to any candidate for public office clearly violate the prohibition against political campaign activity. Violating this prohibition may result in denial or revocation of tax-exempt status and the imposition of certain excise taxes. Certain activities or expenditures may not be prohibited depending on the facts and circumstances. For example, certain voter education activities (including presenting public forums and publishing voter educational guides) conducted in a non-partisan manner do not constitute prohibited political campaign activity. In addition, other activities intended to encourage people to participate in the electoral process, such as voter registration and get-out-the-vote drives, would not be prohibited political campaign activity if conducted in a non-partisan manner. On the other hand, voter education or registration activities with evidence of bias that (a) would favor one candidate in some manner over another; (b) oppose a candidate in some manner; or (c) have the effect of favoring a candidate or group of candidates, will constitute prohibited participation or intervention.

The Internal revenue Service provides resources to exempt organizations and the public to help understand the prohibition. As part of its examine program, the IRS also monitors whether organizations are complying with the prohibition.

____________________________________________________________________________

In Houston, Texas, a couple of years ago the mayor demanded the sermons of local pastors 72 hours before they were given, using this law to dictate what was being said about her from their pulpits. The government is now set to close churches in the time of civil unrest citing that pulpits can invite riots and internal strife.

Under a 501(c)(3) a church must file with the Internal Revenue Service on every dollar that comes in or goes out of the church so that even your contributions and the charities you support are now on file with the government.

Under the 501(c)(3) rule the government can at anytime confiscate the church books and audit any contributor to that church if they choose.

With these facts being put in play by our government, pastors are afraid to stand up for what they think is right. I have had pastors tell me that they cannot speak what God gives them from their own pulpits for fear of being politically incorrect and having the government pull their tax exemption status. They fear this would cut tithes to a point they could not support the church, and we all know that here again, he who controls the money controls the weaker man. Through fear of reprisal the government has forced its way into the pulpits of America and in their own way have forced us to accept things God calls sin.

As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

So let me say for all to hear:

  • All lives matter.    Exodus 20:13
  • Homosexuality is a sin.    Leviticus 20:1
  • Transgenders need to use the toilets of their birth not their choice.    Romans 1:27-29
  • The man who does not provide and defend his home is worse than an infidel.    I Tim 5:8
  • Premarital sex is sin.    I Thessalonians 4:3
  • Rebellious children are displeasing to God.    Colossians 3:20
  • There is no right way nor reason to do the wrong thing.   “Al Haygood (My Father)”

              Leave a comment